The Sociological Scientific Society of Serbia (SNDS) is the successor to a federal association of sociologists which operated on the territory of the second and third Yugoslavias. In October 1945, at the initiative of professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Belgrade, the Yugoslav Sociology Society (JDS) was founded, with headquarters in Belgrade and with Professor Oleg Mandić, from the Faculty of Law of the University of Zagreb, as its president. In accordance with a recommendation from the Central Committee of the League of Communists of Yugoslavia, in 1956 the Society merged with the Philosophical Society of Serbia, acting jointly for the following four years under the title Yugoslav Association for Philosophy and Sociology (JUFS), presided over by Professor Jože Goričar, from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ljubljana. Owing to the sociologists’ continuous work on developing international cooperation as a prerequisite for improving scientific communication, the association became a member of the International Sociological Association (ISA) in 1958. Following a regrouping of the philosophers and sociologists into separate associations in 1960, the Yugoslav Sociological Association (JUS) was founded. As originally specified in the statute, association headquarters was in Belgrade; however, sociologists from Croatia, Slovenia and Serbia alternated in the role of president.

Due to a 1971 modification of the statute, the federal association was reorganized in accordance with the country’s federalization process, with the association’s headquarters moving every two years to the capital of the home republic of the president, secretary, and treasurer. The last assembly attended by sociologists from the entire SFRY was held in Zagreb, in June 1991. By the end of that year, based on proclaimed national independence, the republic sociological societies of Croatia and Slovenia officially withdrew. JUS’s extended main board petitioned the authorities with a request for the cessation of hostilities.

From 1992, the association was a hub for sociologists in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, envisioned as a union of the republic sociological societies of Serbia and Montenegro. The last assembly of the Yugoslav Sociological Association, under that designation, was held in February 2004. As the federal state had changed its designation, the association was reregistered that year as the Sociological Association of Serbia and Montenegro (SUSCG). Although the state union ceased to exist in 2006, the next re-registration was completed only in 2020, from which point the association has been designated as the Sociological Scientific Society of Serbia (SNDS).

The decades-long history of this association has been marked by occasional discontinuities in operation, often caused by financial difficulty. The sole continuous activity of the association, since 1959 until today, has been the publishing of the scientific journal Sociologija: časopis za sociologiju, socijalnu psihologiju i socijalnu antropologiju (Sociology: A Journal for Sociology, Social Psychology and Social Anthropology), an output for which the association has always been well-known.

Anđelka Mirkov


  • Jugoslovensko društvo za sociologiju (Yugoslav Sociological Society) – JDS (1954–1956)
  • Jugoslovensko udruženje za filozofiju i sociologiju (Yugoslav Association for Philosophy and Sociology) – JUFS (1956–1960)
  • Jugoslovensko udruženje za sociologiju (Yugoslav Sociological Association) – JUS (1960–2004)
  • Sociološko udruženje Srbije i Crne Gore (Sociological Association of Serbia and Montenegro) – SUSCG (2004–2020)
  • Sociološko naučno društvo Srbije (Sociological Scientific Society of Serbia) – SNDS (2020–)


  • Oleg Mandić (JDS, 1954–1956)
  • Jože Goričar (JUFS, 1956–1960)
  • Oleg Mandić (JUS, 1960–1963)
  • Ante Fiamengo (JUS, 1963–1966)
  • Mihailo Popović (JUS, 1966–1968)
  • Vladimir Milanović (JUS, 1968–1970)
  • Zdravko Mlinar (JUS, 1970–1972)
  • Rudi Supek (JUS, 1972–1976)
  • Franjo Kožul (JUS, 1976–1978)
  • Desanka Miljoska (JUS, 1978–1981)
  • Niko Toš (JUS, 1981–1985)
  • Srđan Vrcan (JUS, 1985–1987)
  • Nebojša Popov (JUS, 1987–1989)
  • Milovan Mitrović (JUS, 1989–1991)
  • Slobodan Vukićević (JUS, 1991–1993)
  • Božo Milošević (JUS, 1993–1995)
  • Vladimir Ilić (JUS, 1995–1996 and 1996–1997)
  • Dragoljub Đorđević (JUS, 1997–2000)
  • Karel Turza (JUS, 2000–2004)
  • Ljubinko Pušić (JUS and SUSCG, 2004–2006)
  • Milan Vukomanović (SUSCG, 2006–2010)
  • Mirjana Bobić (SUSCG, 2010–2015)
  • Jovo Bakić (SUSCG, 2015–2019)
  • Smiljka Tomanović (SUSCG and SNDS, 2019–)